July Wrap-Up!

wrapup

Hi guys! I hope you have all had a wonderful July 💖

Cue the excuses for being a terrible blogger: July was a scary month for me for personal reasons and unfortunately that’s meant reading and blogging has had to take a bit of a back seat which I’ll be honest – really sucks. I felt like I was just getting in the swing of blogging again, and I’m sorry to have been so consistently inconsistent this year 😔 On a positive note though, I requested and received my first ARC this month which I’m super excited about! I think that by having the added pressure to read and review these on time will make my posting more regular again.

thebooks

readaug

  1. Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker – ✭✭✭✭
  2. There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins – ✭✭✭✭

Oops 😶 Like I mentioned before, my reading definitely took a backseat for the second half of the month which meant I only managed to finish two books, although I’m currently half-way through Daughter of the Burning City which I’m really enjoying!

After finishing the mess that is ACOWAR, I’m so glad I reached for Ten Tiny Breaths because a contemporary New Adult book was just what I needed! The ending was really weird, but I thought it handled grief and tragedy brilliantly, and the book itself was such a quick and fast-paced read that I couldn’t put it down! Sometimes it’s good to take a step back from YA, and I’ll definitely be making an effort to venture more into the NA genre from now on.

And then a crazy thing happened and I got accepted to read TSIYH by Stephanie Perkins, and I couldn’t resist reading it straight away 🙈 Halloween is my favourite time of the year and slasher movies are a definite guilty pleasure of mine so TSIYH (which is essentially a slasher style movie, but as a YA book) was exactly the thing that I never knew I wanted/needed until now. I would highly recommend it, and I’m planning a re-read over the Halloween season 🎃

graphicnovels

gnaug

  1. The Wicked + The Divine – Volumes 1-4

The Wicked + The Divine is now on par with Saga now as one of my favourite graphic novel series! It’s a fantasy series set in London, where Gods are reincarnated as human rock/pop stars – I promise it is better than I am making it sound🤦‍♀️ – there are a load of references to mythology and the artwork is stunning (With the exception of the third volume that features guest artists). Overall, it’s really enjoyable and unpredictable, and I read the first 4 volumes in a week RIP my graphic novel buying ban.

thebooks

haulaug

Vicious // This Savage Song // There’s Someone Inside Your House // Daughter of the Burning City // The Hanging Girl

Whilst I was in London I visited my favourite Waterstones and ended up picking up Vicious and This Savage Song because I miss V.E. Schwab’s writing, and the books are so pretty! I know that I’m going to enjoy these when I get round to them.

I took everyone’s advice and only requested a couple of ARCs that I really like the sound of which were TSIYH, Daughter of the Burning City and The Hanging Girl 😀

thebooks

antaug

  1. Wicked Like a Wildfire by Lana Popović – August 15th
  2. Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo – August 29th

I don’t have too many anticipated releases for August, but I am really excited for these two! It’s FINALLY (well, almost) time for Wonder Woman: Warbringer 🙌

divider

What’s your favourite book you’ve read this month? What are your reading plans for August? 😁

amylee

SaveSave

20 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up!

  1. So happy that you liked Ten Tiny Breaths! I would definitely recommend her Burying Water Series, I actually liked that one way more than Ten Tiny Breaths. I cannot wait to read Stephanie Perkins new book as well! It sounds so promising and I’ve been hearing great things about it.

    I squealed like a child when I saw that you hauled Vicious and This Savage Song!!! AH-MAZING! Hope you have a better August! Happy reading ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like my twin Gretchen said, K.A. Tucker’s Burying Water series is AMAZING! I’d say even better that Ten Tiny Breaths 😉 I am soooOO excited to get to Daughter of the Burning City since circus themed books are my jam! LOL! The Hanging Girl is another book on my list to p/u. eeeeK! Its is almost time for Warbringer, time really did fly! can’t wait for release day. Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I looked it up and had to add it to my tbr straight away! K.A. Tucker has so many books I didn’t know where to go next, but the fact you and Gretchen have both said it’s better than TTB I know I have to pick it up now 😂

      YES! You just can’t go wrong with circus themed books 😍 I still need to finish Daughter of the Burning City, but I hope you love it when you get round to it! Have a great reading month 💗

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, she does have so many good one. This past weekend I picked up a copy of her newest Until It Fades & Gahhhh THAT COVER! lol, hoping it’s as good as the Burying Water series. Thank you Amylee & happy reading to you as well ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh, I’m sorry to hear July wasn’t a great month for you Amylee. I hope August is a lot better ♥ I’m so glad you enjoyed TSIYH. That is one of my most anticipated releases. Congrats on receiving your first ARC too 🎉 I’ve REALLY gotta read This Savage Song and Vicious.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lauren! 💖 I read TSIYH thinking you would probably love it because of how much you love halloween too 😂🎃 I’m glad I’m not the only one who hasn’t read This Savage Song and Vicious yet 😂 Hopefully I’ll read at least one of them this month for the reading quest, and hopefully we’ll both enjoy them when we get to them! Have a great reading month 💖

      Like

  4. I’m sorry you had a scary month! 😶 I went through a few difficult months a while ago and have just now started to feel better, so my reading has increased as well! I hope it will for you too 😊 Also congrats on getting your first arc, that’s really exciting!! x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m sorry you had a difficult month, but major props to all of the reading that you accomplished last month. Even if it’s not as much as you would’ve liked, it’s still something and that’s an accomplishment. I’m starting This Savage Song soon as well, so I’m excited to see what you think of that. I’m definitely going to check out the graphic novel series that you mentioned. It looks amazing, thank you for introducing it to me. What an awesome post! I just stumbled upon your blog, and I’m greatly enjoying its content.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

