June Wrap-Up!

wrapup

WHAT DO YOU MEAN IT’S ALMOST JULY?
Is it just me, or has this month flown by? 😳

I’m just happy I can post a wrap-up this month because I managed to get out of a mini reading slump, and read something that wasn’t a comic or graphic novel 😂

thebooks

junebooks

  1. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor – ✭✭✭✭✭
  2. Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han – ✭✭✭
  3. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir (RE-READ)  – ✭✭✭✭✭
  4. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir – ✭✭✭✭
  5. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman – ✭✭✭
  6. A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas – RANT REVIEW – ✭½

Overall, a very mixed month with some books I absolutely LOVED and some I loathed *cough*ACOWAR*cough*. I’m so behind on reviews at the moment though, so none are posted yet, but I’m planning on doing one for Strange the Dreamer and a series review/wrap-up for Always and Forever, Lara Jean 😊

Strange the Dreamer set such a high standard for the rest of the month because it is an absolute work of art. I’m so pleased that I picked this up because everything about it was incredible, and the writing was beautiful. I’m sure you’ve already heard about Strange the Dreamer, or have read it already, but if not you should really add it to your TBR pile pronto!

I also managed to read Always and Forever, Lara Jean (The final book in Jenny Han’s To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy) which I found a bit underwhelming. I think the series could have done with just being a duology, but it was still a nice read anyway!

Next I caught up with Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes series, but I had to re-read An Ember in the Ashes first and I’m so happy I did! I enjoyed it much more the second time and changed my rating to 5 stars. The Sequel, A Torch Against the Night was also another favourite this month.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane was a spontaneous read whilst the weather was nice for once, and it was too sunny to read my kindle outside (Which is a miracle in the UK) It didn’t blow me away, but it was still a lovely afternoon read ☀️

On theme with catching up with book series, the final book I read this month was A Court of Wings and Ruin – and what a disappointment it was! I was planning on writing a full review, but I don’t want to spend another minute thinking about it! 😂 I’ve linked to my mini-review/rant on goodreads though if you want to know why I didn’t enjoy it.

graphicnovels

  1. Rat Queens – Volume 1: Sass and Sorcery

I’m all caught up with my stack of unread graphic novels now, so I only had one left to read this month! I think graphic novels are such a good way to keep reading interesting and give a fun break between reading heavy books, so I’ve definitely missed them this month!

Rat Queens was really great though, I’d definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a graphic novel with some bad-ass female lead characters! It reminds me a bit of Saga in terms of tone and humour and I’ll hopefully pick up the next two volumes in July!

I’m definitely on the look-out for some new graphic novels to start, so let me know if you have any recommendations! 💗

thebooks

june2

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone // Ten Tiny Breaths // All the Ugly and Wonderful Things // Tiger Lily //

My sister was really kind and gifted me a 20th anniversary, Ravenclaw edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone for finishing my second year at university (I’m a little bit heartbroken that I now realise I am a slytherin 😂). But it’s so beautiful, and I feel a HP re-read is long overdue.

Because I was a bit disappointed in some of the hyped up books I read this month, on a whim I went through goodreads and picked out Ten Tiny Breaths and All the Ugly and Wonderful Things that were recommended to me, I don’t know much about them but there’s a lot of positive reviews from my GR friends, so I’m excited to give them a go!

I also picked up Tiger Lily because I saw it on Sam’s (Thoughtsontomes) video recommending standalone sci-fi and fantasy books, and it sounded right up my alley!

thebooks

july

  1. The Reason You’re Alive by Matthew Quick – July 4th
  2. The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy – July 4th
  3. Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tale of Villainy Anthology – July 11th
  4. Final Girls by Riley Sager – July 11th
  5. Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody – July 25th

There are a lot of great releases coming up in July, but these are the ones I have my eyes on 👀

divider

What’s your favourite book you’ve read this month? What are you most looking forward to reading in July? 😁

amylee

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

19 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up!

  1. I read your ACOWAR rant and just *standing ovation* gosh I loathed that book too. I couldn’t STAND it at all. Completely agree that it has terrible lgbtq+ rep, using lgbtq+ as a plot point (Mor), the cringe worth sex scenes, the way she went about PoC…soooo many things I found problematic. Just like you, I will not be reading anymore by SJM.

    Strange the Dreamer was an AMAZING book and I happy to see your 5 stars on it! eeeeek. I have yet to read the last book to Lara Jean but do plan on it. I wonder how I’ll feel about it, I think I keep pushing it off because I’ll most likely have the same feelings as you.

    I am so excited that you got Ten Tiny Breaths!! I loved that book and thought it was great, I really hope you like it. I really want to pick up Final Girls. Happy friday! I hope you have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! I’m glad I’m not the only one that thought it was terrible, I’ve seen so many 5* reviews for it and I just don’t understand – maybe we read a different book?? 😣

      I hope you like the last Lara Jean book when you get round to it! it feels pretty good to finish a series 😂

      Ooo yay, I think I might have to start Ten Tiny Breaths today then! And thank you Gretchen, I hope you’re having a great weekend too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. *claps at your rant* It’s so true. I was VERY disappointed with her last minute reveal for the LGBT character and molasses is faster in January than the first half of ACOWAR. I wasn’t AS disappointed as you were but I was pretty damn close. I really enjoyed the other two books so this felt like a let down, almost like she didn’t have enough time to mull over how the story really needed to end.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ugh yeah, I’m surprised it made it through editing! Yeah, ACOWAR really let the series down which is such a shame, but I’m glad you weren’t completely disappointed though!

      “molasses is faster in January than the first half of ACOWAR” This made me laugh so hard 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m surprise to see you have a rant review for ACOWAR. I still have yet to read book 2. I’m glad you enjoyed An Ember in the Ashes to read again. I loved that book too, especially Elias. He’s awesome 🙂 I still need to read book 2 as well. I liked The Disappearances and hope you will be able to pick it up in July 🙂 I’m also happy to see your 5 stars on Laini Taylor’s book. I need to read her books 🙂 Looks like you have a great month! I hope you will have another great reading/blogging month in July!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So am I! 😣 I really enjoyed ACOMAF – definitely the best in the series so I hope you enjoy it!

      Yeah, Elias is great! The second book is a great sequel as well, so I’m sure you’ll love it too 😁

      And thank you very much, I hope you have a great July too! 💗

      Liked by 1 person

  4. emmareadstoomuch

    so many of these are on my tbr! always and forever, lara jean, an ember in the ashes reread, a torch against the night, acowar…will definitely be a mixed bag. love this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have yet to read ACOWAR & tbh I’m a little scared to now 😂😂😂 my bff Chicnerdreads has warned me & we tend to agree on books so I’m still unsure as to whether I’ll even bother with it. I do however, want to get to Strange the Dreamer since Laini is one of my top 5 fave authors. I’ve heard many say that the wrap up to Jenny Hans trilogy was underwhelming smh. I do hope your July is much better & given the books you’ve selected to read, it just might be 😉 sidenote…I’m also avoiding getting re-sorted cuz I’m a die hard Raveclaw and that’s just my truth 😂🤣🤣 happy reading 💙

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh dear! 😂😂 I definitely agree with ChicNerdReads haha, I would have definitely DNF’d it if I didn’t feel obligated to finish the series 😫 I’ll be interested to see what you think though if you do end up reading it!

      I’m sure you’ll love Strange the Dreamer then! It was the first Laini Taylor book I’ve read, but I really need to pick up more of her work soon now, I can definitely see why she’s one of your top authors! 😁

      DON’T DO IT! 😂 I regret it so much, I’m having an identity crisis now I’m a slytherin 😶

      I hope you have a great reading month!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Baha! See that would be the only reason I’d read it, I invested way too much time in these books 😩 I wouldn’t be surprised if she crosses over with Throne of Glass since it’s basically the same world. I’ve heard people say that there are three more books in this series centered around the side characters which I happen to like even though I’m not liking her writing as of late. Omygosh yes, Laini! I waited so long for Strange & now that I have it I just want to hold off until news of the second book lol. I dunno, I may just cave smh 🤦🏻‍♀️ & nooooooo I will NOT be resorted 🤣🤣🤣 thank you! Wishing you an amazing reading month 😃💙📚💙

        Like

  6. puppapages

    An Ember in the Ashes is one of my favourites! Apart from The Monsters of Verity, it’s the only series I have all in hardback 😀
    I haven’t written my review for ACOWAR yet but I can sense we had the same feelings. It’s such a shame because I loved ACOMAF! I don’t have any interest in picking up ToG now and have unhauled them.
    Excited to read Strange the Dreamer and The Ocean and the End of the Lane though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! It’s such a good series, I already can’t wait for the 3rd book! 😁 And I’m hopefully going to read This Savage Song soon, I’ve heard so many good things about it, I’m glad you love it so much 😁

      I feel the exact same! I can’t believe ACOMAF and ACOWAR are part of the same series, ACOWAR was such a let-down 😕 I look forward to reading your review though!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. puppapages

        Hey! I’m just getting around to writing my ACOWAR review and was wondering if I could link to your Goodreads review at the bottom of mine? Totally fine if not!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m so happy you loved Strange the Dreamer. Laini Taylor is a GENIUS. It’s one of the most unique fantasies I’ve ever read. I’ve really gotta read An Ember in the Ashes!! I wasn’t a fan of ACOTAR and I feel like I made the right decision not to continue on the with series 😂

    I’m so bad at remembering what people have read, but I definitely recommend Lumberjanes, Nimona and Amulet!! Snotgirl and Papergirls too maybe if you want something a little weird.

    Can’t wait for Because You Love to Hate Me and Final Girls!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

