April Wrap-Up!

wrapup

April was the month of comic books and graphic novels for me! I had vouchers to spend so decided to spend them on the graphic novels that I’ve been dying to read for ages, and I was not disappointed! I also read some really great books, and April also technically marked one year since I started blogging 💗

thebooksapril

  1. Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde  – REVIEW – ✭✭✭
  2. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han – REVIEW – ✭✭✭✭
  3. P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han – ✭✭✭✭
  4. The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli – ✭✭✭½
  5. We Are Okay by Nina Lacour – ✭✭✭✭
  6. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab – ✭✭✭✭

I was definitely on a contemporary kick for April! Overall I really enjoyed everything I read, although A Gathering of Shadows and We Are Okay were my favourite reads this month.

Queens of Geek was a nice little read that featured probably the best array of diverse characters that I’ve read in one book, and although I was a bit disappointed by the writing, it was still a really nice read!

I also started the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy this month in anticipation for the final instalment (Always and Forever, Lara Jean) which comes out in May, and I absolutely loved it! Both books were incredibly fluffy and were exactly what I was looking for because they cheered me up.

The Upside of Unrequited was another slightly disappointing book for me. I went into it expecting it to be as funny and charismatic as Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, but it just didn’t compare in my opinion! I’m still glad I picked it up, but I think I’d have enjoyed it more if I didn’t go in with such high expectations, oops.

We Are Okay was a really unique little book that was pretty slow but really struck a nerve with me. The writing was stunning and the story was heartbreaking.

And finally, I finished A Gathering of Shadows yesterday and I just don’t know how to cope right now. THAT CLIFFHANGER IS SO CRUEL. I was saving A Conjuring of Light for when I go to London this week but I’ll probably end up picking it up before then!

graphicnovels

april2

  1. Giant Days – Volumes 1-4
  2. Snotgirl – Volume 1
  3. Saga – Volume 1-6
  4. Paper Girls – Volume 1
  5. Archie – Volume 1

I feel like Saga kind of took over my life for a few weeks, and honestly thank god for being able to read comics instantly on kindles, because I can’t wait to read the seventh one!

Giant Days has been fantastic, I’m at university myself and found everything so honest and funny! The characters are wonderful, I would really recommend these to anyone who wants a quick read and a good laugh.

Paper Girls was not what I was expecting at all, and I didn’t love it, but I will probably continue anyway because I love the stranger things vibes it gives, and I’m hoping the story will pick up.

Snotgirl was a bit darker than I thought it would be, but very different to anything I’ve read before and I’m really enjoying the mystery! I’ll just be over here patiently waiting for the next issue 😌

Archie was just not for me unfortunately! I loved loved loved the art, but apart from Betty and Jughead I just didn’t care about any of the characters – they all made stupid decisions and I just couldn’t be bothered with it by the end so I wont be carrying it on which sucks because I was expecting to love it.

thebooks

starstarstar

We Were Liars // Vanishing Girls // The Upside of Unrequited

I used up my book buying allowance on Saga this month lol, but I did pick up one new book and lots of second hand ones (The rest were different editions of the harry potter books).

divider

What’s your favourite book you read this month? What are you most looking forward to reading in May? 

– Amylee

17 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up!

  1. I actually haven’t finished a single book this month which is really weird, but I’m really happy to hear that you read and enjoyed so many of the things you read this month! That cliffhanger in AGOS is SO cruel! I couldn’t believe she did that to her readers! Luckily, I only started reading the trilogy this year, so I didn’t have to wait too long to find out what happens to all of the characters! I hope you’ll end up loving A Conjuring Of Light!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh, I hope you’re not in the dreaded reading slump! 💗 yes I couldn’t believe the cliffhanger!! I really wanted to save ACOL but I cant focus on anything else so I have no choice 😂 and that’s good you didn’t have to wait too long either, I don’t know how people waited a year! And thank you, I’m sure I will 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, the cliffhanger in A Gathering of Shadows is downright painfullllll! I hope you enjoy ACOL, it is absolutely phenomenal. ❤ Ahah I miss the Lara Jean books! With the release of the third book I think a reread is calling for me… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhhh Saga! I finally got Volume 7 from the library but I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. It took over my life at the end of last year, and I read them all in like a week. So good. Prince Robot is my fave. 😀

    Looks like you had a great month, though! And it’s so nice when you enjoy everything you read. Happy one year blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. it seems like you had an amazing reading month amylee! i also can’t wait for always and forever, even though i was initially reluctant to read it 😀 can’t wait to hear what you think on vanishing girls! my most anticipated read for may will probably flame in the mist, but i don’t know if i’ll get to it or not. have an amazing may!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah April was great! I’m quite excited for vanishing girls, hopefully I’ll get to it soon! I’m glad you’re looking forward to flame in the mist, the premise sounds really interesting and unique 😁

      Have an a-may-zing month as well! 😉

      Like

  5. Giant Days!!!

    It is one of my absolute favorite currently running series. The girls are just so fun – and I love that their strong friendship is so central to the story. We need more strong female friendships in literature! I can’t wait for Vol. 5. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahh, sorry you didn’t enjoy Upside as much as Simon!! I’m so happy that you loved A Gathering of Shadows though ♥♥ I can’t wait to see what you think of ACOL 😀 YES TO ALL THE COMICS YOU READ TOO. I love Saga, Giant Days and Snotgirl!!! When I read Papergirls I thought it was going to be a contemporary 😂😂 I’m so behind on all my comics though, I gotta catch up ahaha. Lovely haul too 😀 I hope you enjoy We Were Liars.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah me too 😩 and I can’t believe how amazing the ADSOM trilogy is, I just finished ACOL and I’m just so sad that’s it’s over 💔 YES, I’ve been really getting into comics recently, and there’s just so many good ones out there and not enough time! Haha I genuinely thought the same about papergirls and was so confused lmao. And thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

