Review: Queens of Geek

QOF
Author: Jen Wilde
Publication Date: 14th March 2017

addto

synopsis

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

mythoughtsQueens of Geek gets 3658504 points for diversity, pop culture references and fun! The diversity of the characters in QoG definitely persuaded me to pick this up, and I’m glad I did because I found the anxiety rep relatable, and it’s so refreshing to read a book full to the brim of YA characters that break a lot of the YA stereotypes we’ve all read 1000 times.

The story itself is a bit lacklustre in places, the main focus is on two developing romances that take place over ‘SupaCon’ but apart from that, there isn’t much else in terms of an actual plot. However, whilst the story comes across as completely fluffy and adorable, it also handles some really important themes and issues such as sexism and homophobia.

I personally enjoyed Charlie’s POV the most, although I would have liked to have read more from Jamie’s POV as well because his only purpose seemed to be to help Taylor, which made the friendship between the three of them feel a bit forced at times. It would have just been nice to read a bit more about the three of them together, as the focus always seemed to be on either Taylor/Jamie or Taylor/Charlie.

Unfortunately, I did find myself really struggling to enjoy the writing style – it read a bit too childish for me. There were a lot of overly dramatic reactions and speeches, but more noticeably, there were parts that should have been given more time to be explored – a lot of the problems the characters are faced with seemed to be oversimplified and resolved almost instantly through heavy info-dump dialogue, and this ultimately made the book feel predictable and a little cliché in places.

Overall, Queens of Geek is a really fun, quick, charismatic read that I would recommend if you’re looking for a fun but diverse YA contemporary. I think a younger, teen audience would probably enjoy this more than I did, although I’m sure every person who reads this will gain something enjoyable out of it!

rating
starstarstar3star2star2


 

amylee

15 thoughts on “Review: Queens of Geek

  1. This is so random of me to comment but I have to tell you that I just came across your blog and that I love it! Honestly, you have a lovely website here and I am so happy I have discovered it! I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your posts. Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The cover is SO pretty! This one has been on my radar, though I’ve read a few reviews like yours about how there’s not much plot beyond the romance. Sometimes that’s okay with me, sometimes it isn’t. So I’m still a little on the fence over this one. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you liked this one!! I totally understand what you mean about the writing. I think it could definitely have been a bit more polished. I loved all the same things you did though and I really connected to Taylor. I loved the anxiety rep and all the other diverse features. Great review, Amylee ♥!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: April Wrap-Up! – ◎The Book Lagoon ◎

Leave a Reply

