Review: Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda

SIMON
Author:  Becky Albertalli
Publication Date: 25th March 2015

addto

synopsis

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

mythoughts

I’ll try not to make this review too mushy, but I’m not promising anything because this book is as positively mushy as it gets – If I had to sum it up with one word, it would be adorable! I think everyone knows the feeling when a book just picks you up and makes you break out into the biggest smile, and you end the day in a much better mood than when you started.

“It’s strange because in reality, I’m not the leading guy. Maybe I’m the best friend. I guess I didn’t think of myself as interesting until I was interesting to Blue.”

Simon is a relatable, flawed and witty character who felt believable and not over dramatised which made the book a fun, quick and enjoyable read. As for Simon and Blue’s relationship, it was heartwarming and just the right amount of frustrating! Their honesty in their emails made me feel like I was intruding a private moment but I couldn’t stop reading, it was just sweet and innocent and left me dying to uncover the mystery behind Blue’s identity.

I also really enjoyed the other aspects to the story, with the focus on Simon and the impact him coming out has on the relationships he has with his friends and family and his peers at school. Although it does highlight the damage of homophobic behaviour, it was refreshing to read that the majority of people were supportive of him, I think it just sends a really positive message to everyone reading.

I wouldn’t consider myself the biggest fan of romance driven books, but Valentines day was approaching and I couldn’t resist falling in love with this. SO, if you’re looking for a pick-me-up book that will surely brighten your day, I would fully recommend checking this out if you haven’t already!

rating
starstarstarstarstar


amylee

7 thoughts on “Review: Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda

  1. Pingback: February Wrap-Up! – The Book Lagoon

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR: TTT – The Book Lagoon

Leave a Reply

