Review: Siege and Storm

SASAuthor: Leigh Bardugo
Release Date: 4th June 2013

addto

synopsis

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

mythoughts

Excuse the lateness, it’s taken me over a week to gather my thoughts after binge reading this series.

“It felt wrong, like everything was happening too quickly, as if we were rushing toward something we didn’t understand.”

Ironically, Siege and Storm has a quote that perfectly sums up how I felt reading it. Don’t get me wrong, I still bloody loved this! I just think the pacing was a bit off. The beginning and end felt rushed whilst the middle felt too slow.

Seeing as Mal and Alina had escaped together at the end of the last book, I thought the beginning would serve as a chance for me to begrudgingly warm up to the idea of them together. Instead, the Darkling waltzed in in the middle of the first chapter, shining in all his glory and once again proved that Mal actually has as much personality/charisma as a potato.

The darkling wasn’t in it much which was a shame, but I still thought he was great. He’s made quite a transformation since the last book – he’s a lot scarier and determined to get what he wants. I see where people are coming from by saying that he felt a bit out of character at times, but I think it’s just because he didn’t have to keep up with the façade anymore. I’d love to read a prequel to Shadow and Bone to learn more about how he became the darkling, there’s so much there that could be explored!

Not to worry though, a certain Prince named Nikolai was introduced and kept Mal out of the picture the book interesting. It was nice to have an instantly likeable character!

I was worried that he would just serve as a stand-in for the darkling so there would still be some sort of love triangle involving Alina, but it didn’t feel like that at all. He was just wonderful and charming, and his motives were interesting!

The ending of this book was fantastic but it all happened so quickly I had to reread it a few times to get everything. The best feeling was finishing it and not feeling like I’d just read a ‘gap filler’ in a series. I would also like to marry Leigh Bardugo and her writing.

(I’ll have a review for Ruin and Rising soon, I’m writing it in between studying!)

rating
starstarstar3star2star2


amylee

SaveSave

4 thoughts on “Review: Siege and Storm

Leave a Reply

