Review: This is Not a Test

19638305

Title: This is Not a Test
Author: Courtney Summers
Rating: ✭✭✭✭½

Add to Goodreads

It’s the end of the world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is little comfort when the dead outside won’t stop pounding on the doors. One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a monstrous version of their former self.

To Sloane Price, that doesn’t sound so bad. Six months ago, herworld collapsed and since then, she’s failed to find a reason to keep going. Now seems like the perfect time to give up. As Sloane eagerly waits for the barricades to fall, she’s forced to witness the apocalypse through the eyes of five people who actually want to live.

But as the days crawl by, the motivations for survival change in startling ways and soon the group’s fate is determined less and less by what’s happening outside and more and more by the unpredictable and violent bids for life—and death—inside.

When everything is gone, what do you hold on to?

What a lovely surprise!

I thought I’d give the first chapter a go whilst waiting for the bus (seeing as this book has been sitting on my kindle for far too long) and I can’t say I was expecting much – but blimey, the opening was probably one of the best I’ve read in a long time!

“But you didn’t die,” He says.

“I did,” I say. “I’m just waiting for the rest of me to catch up.” 

Whilst I can see where some people are coming from when they say they didn’t enjoy reading Sloane’s POV, I personally found her mature and blunt narrative fascinating! She’s so strong considering all the abuse she suffered before the zombies, and I felt like I really understood her motives for everything.

The only real issue I had with the book, was that it felt some of the characters had no real substance to them, particularly Trace and Harrison. They failed to grow and develop as the book went on which is something you would expect considering all the trauma they went through – but nope, nada.

Overall, this book had such a strong beginning and end and I seriously couldn’t recommend this enough. I’ve already got Please Remain Calm and can’t wait to see what the sequel brings after such an exciting first installment!

divider

UPDATE: As for Please Remain Calm:

I AM THE OPPOSITE OF CALM.

Courtney Summers needs to write a sequel now!

divider

amylee

Leave a Reply

