Review: How to Be a Woman

10600242

Title: How to Be a Woman
Author: Caitlin Moran
Rating: ✭✭✭✭✭

Add to Goodreads

Though they have the vote and the Pill and haven’t been burned as witches since 1727, life isn’t exactly a stroll down the catwalk for modern women. They are beset by uncertainties and questions: Why are they supposed to get Brazilians? Why do bras hurt? Why the incessant talk about babies? And do men secretly hate them? Caitlin Moran interweaves provocative observations on women’s lives with laugh-out-loud funny scenes from her own, from adolescence to her development as a writer, wife, and mother.

I decided I needed to read this book after I saw this quote on Pinterest, and I’m so glad that I did! Whilst I can’t say that I agreed with everything Caitlin had to say, I found this such a funny and interesting read. One minute I was hysterically laughing and the next I was deep in thought pondering what Caitlin was saying. It felt like I was talking to a friend, someone who knew exactly what to say.

I love anything that can highlight exactly why we need feminism now more than ever – and this book does that (and more) perfectly. Now I’m trying to convince anyone I’ve ever met to give this book a try.

It’s also worth noting this book was chosen for ‘Our Shared Shelf‘ on goodreads (The feminist book club set up by UN Goodwill Ambassador, Emma Watson.) which is worth checking out!

Leave a Reply

