Review: Unravel (Fairfax #1)

59zkpzr

Title: Unravel
Author: Calia Read
Rating: ✭✭✭✭½

Add to Goodreads

Six months ago, I was happy. I was simply Naomi Carradine.

One month ago, I was admitted into a psych ward.

Yesterday, Lachlan visited me. Kissed me. And told me that I’m starting to lose my mind.

Hours later, Max haunted my thoughts, reminding me I’m not crazy and that he needs my help.

A few minutes ago, I drifted further from reality, trying to unravel the past.

And now…everyone thinks I’m insane. But, I know he’s real, and I know he needs me.

Do you believe me?

It’s almost impossible to discuss this book without spoilers, so I’ll just give a short review!

Unravel is the perfect example of the huge differences between young adult and new adult books, and I was extremely surprised at how dark it was!

The first few chapters will ensnare you straight away, the mystery and confusion will keep you guessing, and the ending will leave you reeling.

Although the beginning and end of this were gripping, I did struggle a bit through the middle. The overtly descriptive chapters dedicated to Naomi’s sexy time were too long and repetitive throughout the book and I found myself skimming through them. Some parts were also a bit too melodramatic for my liking.

I really don’t think this book is for everybody, but ultimately I couldn’t be happier that I found it and Calia Read is definitely an author I’ll be on the lookout for from now on!

Leave a Reply

